Ten things that I miss about Great Britain

I once wrote a blog post about the ten things I love about Germany, and decided to follow it up with an equally positive list of things that I miss about Great Britain – an island I left five years ago but which I am fortunate enough to still visit regularly.

So in no particular order, here is my list…

1. Fish and Chips by the sea.

Brighton

Brighton

2. My Daughter. I know we parents have to get used to our children fleeing the nest, but for us, this came much earlier than we would have liked. She missed England so much that we arranged for her to return even though we knew that we had to stay behind in Germany. It is wonderful to see how happy she now is, and we can’t wait to spend time with her in the summer!

IMG_0043

Back together for a short visit

3. Its industrial heritage. Britain’s industrial revolution started before the advent of railways. The country needed a way to transport raw materials and finished goods around the country and to the sea ports such as Bristol and Liverpool. A vast network of canals began to be constructed in the 18th century thanks to the pioneering skills of James Brindley and this further fuelled the industrial revolution. Whilst trains, and eventually road transport, went on to supersede the canals, they are still an important part of the landscape and offer a magnificent way to explore the towns, cities and countryside. The locks, aqueducts, viaducts and tunnels allow you to admire the hard work, skill and innovation from all those years ago. And the traditional narrowboats, which are often beautifully decorated, provide a very leisurely way to explore with plenty of places to stop off for a pub lunch!

In addition to the canals, there are many steam railways and museums, some of which like Ironbridge make it is very easy to step back in time and to learn what it was really like to live all those years ago!

10526803_10202939415759829_1434705032_o 10528429_10202939414039786_798686439_o 10533715_10202939579883932_473895243_o 10519074_10202939514802305_2064639827_o 10512174_10202939532882757_1081007842_o 10521786_10202939399079412_914411570_o-1

4. The friendly people. It goes without saying that I miss family and friends. But here I am talking about the ordinary person in the street. It’s not unusual to end up sharing life stories with complete strangers – the lady who serves up breakfast in the B&B, the girl who works behind the counter at the local book shop or the young man who cuts your hair. And it’s not for tips. It’s not because I am a special person because I am not! Perhaps some of it is because of the strong connection I feel when speaking to anyone who speaks my language and who comes from my nation. But I think it is mainly because the average person from Great Britain is genuinely friendly.

5. The theatre. Great Britain has many very talented people and you can enjoy the most wonderful evenings or afternoons at the theatre. My favourite shows are musicals, but I also enjoy pantomimes which are shown around the festive season. I love the witty innuendoes which have the parents screaming with laughter but which thankfully go over the kids’ heads.  The audience participation adds to the fun and excitement, except once at the Swan Theatre in Worcester when a large actor dressed as a women made me part of the show for the hundreds watching! 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6. The British Isles. First, it is important to note that this is a geographical region and not a single nation. According to the Ordnance Survey, The British Isles is made up of about 5000 small islands in addition to the larger islands of Great Britain and Ireland (other web sites show an even higher estimate). Some people might be surprised just how spectacular some of these are with their rugged coastlines against which the waves crash with relentless force. This awe-inspiring power and noise does not put off the many forms of wildlife that reside on and around these remote locations. Now, to say I am not an expert on birds would be a massive understatement, so I found a website called Skye Birds and randomly selected a few examples of birds that are seen on the Isle of Skye – the Cuckoo, the Eagle, the Puffin, and the Buzzard stood out for me. I have only been to a few of the small islands and would like to return and see more – it is amazing how much that you don’t get to see when it is right on your doorstep! The pictures below were taken on a family holiday to Jersey, which is an island so far south that some might claim it is not part of the British Isles.

But back to mainland Great Britain where I am from, the one thing I do miss is the fresh air that blows in from the Atlantic Ocean, the North Sea, the Irish Sea and the English Channel. You don’t need to be near the coast to know that you are on an island!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7. Its cities. Well I have already written lots about Birmingham, but here are two more, London in the south east and Bristol in the south west of England.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8. The pubs. A nice pint of English bitter. A refreshing pint of Herefordshire cider. There have been lots of changes since I left England, but some of my fondest memories are of time spent in the local public houses which were at the heart of the communities in which I lived.

10519118_10202939552723253_1248181505_o 9. English breakfast. Sorry to return to the subject of food again, but the contents of my shopping basket during one of our recent trips back to England show just how much we miss our bacon, sausage and beans!

Stocking up at the Supermarket

Stocking up at the Supermarket

10. The medium-sized towns that I have lived in. The photos of the canals above show Stourport-on-Severn, but I also lived in Bewdley (I must find some photos of this town for you) and Princes Risborough in Buckinghamshire (winter photos below).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And that’s it. I now feel quite emotional, so I had best go and put the kettle on and make a nice cup of tea! 🙂

Thanks to my sister for providing the photos of the canals. I do of course, miss you too! xx

© Chris Robinson 2014. All rights reserved.

Useful links for further information (which helped me with this blog post):

  1. BBC History. “Canals” http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/british/gallery_buildingstyles_05.shtml
  2. Ordnance Survey. “The difference between UK, Britain and the British Isles” http://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/blog/2011/08/whats-the-difference-between-uk-britain-and-british-isles/
  3. Skye Birds. “A birding guide to the Island of Skye” http://www.skye-birds.com

 

32 thoughts on “Ten things that I miss about Great Britain

      1. bevchen

        I’m pretty sure they just think I’m a junk food addict… Wotsits, Hula Hoops, Monster Munch, Galaxy chocolate, Bourbon Creams…

      1. Chris Robinson Post author

        Many of my relatives call me mate, so you’ve made me feel at home! 🙂 I must read your blog too. I had a quick look earlier and was impressed!

  1. Alison and Don

    Hi Chris, nice to meet you. This post makes me want to go back to England and do one of those canal boat holidays. Your daughter is gorgeous!
    Thank you for following our blog. I hope you enjoy the stories of our journey, both inner and outer.
    Cheers,
    Alison

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Hi Alison, nice to meet you too! Thanks for your lovely comments, they are really appreciated, and I look forward to reading more about your adventures! Cheers, Chris

      Reply
  2. backoftheocean

    Interesting selection. I wonder what my list would look like without Skpe, BBC radio & TV on internet. My numbers from your list in priority order are …..2, 1, 6, 4 the others I can take or leave……….did I mention 2 !
    I would add that I miss attending good household auction rooms, I have yet to find an interesting affordable auction in Germany.

    Reply
  3. ruthcwelsby

    Thank you for following my blog. You have made me appreciate good old Blighty a little more, it is a wonderful place to live, even we do have a moan now and then.

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      You’re welcome and thank you for reading and commenting on mine too. Yes it is a wonderful place to live although it now feels a little strange for us each time we return after more than five years of living in Germany!

      Reply
  4. deliciousmother

    Number 5! Number 5! I also LOVE musicals. The West End was just a short tube ride away, so it goes without saying that I didn’t take advantage of it. Watching Oliver in German would be really tough right now with my limited language skills. And I reckon British performers can not be outshone by anyone.

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Ha ha, I love your enthusiasm for musicals! My daughter played in a lot of German shows. I felt so proud of her, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the performances, but I really had little idea what they were about! 🙂

      Reply
  5. andrewvokes

    Absolutely lovely to hear. I do sometimes grow tired of people saying this country has nothing to offer, it really is a wonderful place! I’m sure you can’t wait to get back!

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Thanks Andrew, yes I do like to visit there – but it is strange because we always visit the same 3 or 4 places where family or friends live, but I now would love to visit some of the places I’ve not been to for many years, such as Yorkshire, Scotland, Cornwall or some of the small islands. Perhaps one day I will be able to arrange this…

      Reply
  6. afewwordsinpencil

    Ooh that almost made me feel homesick! I agree with all the points – people in England are friendly – even in London. And the history, oh yes. Well I am an historical novelist so it goes without saying.

    Fish & chips well, that goes without saying!

    Great blog 😉

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Thanks for your comments. Combining history with writing must be fascinating, something I would like to try. I plan to write a blog post about my great grandfather in the first world war, but have not yet finished all the research that is required. I saw you have written a novel set in this time, so I have just downloaded it to my kindle app. Perhaps this will give me the inspiration to continue with my own blog post. I should warn you though, I currently have lots of books on the go so it might take me a little while to get round to reading yours, but at least now it is on my phone and ready to be read! 🙂

      Reply
  7. amonikabyanyuvva

    I can’t imagine living outside G.B which is undergoing its own transformation at the moment, with the political desire to decentralise and have self determination in Scotland,Wales and probably Cornwall. And it feels much more globally influenced in the past two decades, with lots of nationalities choosing to live here.
    I had to laugh that Fish and Chips got placed above your daughter! Harsh!!

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Yes I know, I am glued to the television at the moment watching all the debates about Scotland. I hope they stay in the UK, but I will understand if they don’t. As you say in your blog post, there is a lot of change going on at the moment!

      My daughter knows that I miss her more than fish and chips, I just didn’t want to start off the post with too much of an emotional statement! 🙂

      Reply
  8. KleesButterfly

    Lovely post, and I’m very fond of all things English. But the one thing that I will never understand is how on earth one can eat beans and sausages for breakfast? Who came up with this wacky idea?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

