The Ahr Valley

I feel blessed to have lived near the Ahr Valley for the last six years. We have visited this region often – all seasons and all weathers. We have been here for the Christmas markets, wine festivals, with friends, family, colleagues, alone, by car and by train. I never tire of it. I love the way the vineyards cling to the impossibly steep slopes or when the fast-flowing river freezes over and makes me feel like I am in an Alpine winter resort. I adore the little red train that winds its way gently through the dramatic landscape, over bridges and through tunnels that are almost as spectacular as the rocky crags that cast a cold shadow over large swathes of the autumn valley. The Rotweinwanderweg is a splendid walking route where you feel the full heat of the summer sun and where thankfully, there are plenty of places to stop for refreshments or to admire the views. I like it most when the grapes are ripe and being picked by the workers who slowly work their way up the steep slopes high above the wine taverns and  restaurants below. The Ahr is wonderful for coffee-drinkers, wine connoisseurs, walkers, cyclists, dancers, historians, geologists and people from England who like to get out and walk their dog. I feel like its our little secret. The guidebook we bought in England before moving here does not even mention the Ahr. Its wines are mainly red, and despite the superb quality of its Pinot Noir for example, I don’t think it is available outside of Germany. The locals seem to keep this charming little place and its wine all to themselves, and who can blame them.

Here are a few pictures I took today.

IMG_0429 IMG_0426 IMG_0420 IMG_0411 IMG_0406 IMG_0401

Thanks for reading! 🙂

All pictures and text. © Chris Robinson 2014. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “The Ahr Valley

    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Oh you must go Ines, perhaps start with the Christmas market at Ahrweiler. Thanks for your feedback about my blog, it was all wriitten in a bit of a hurry and I felt I should have been more thorough in my descriptions of this wonderful region! I hope you are able to visit soon and that you like it as much as I do!

      Reply
  1. vivienne blake

    Thanks for following my blog. Whereabouts is the Ahr region? Your castigation of the guide book is justified: I’ve never heard of it! Whereabouts did you come from in the West Midlands – I lived there for 20 odd years before 2 years in Seychelles and then settling in Normandy in 93.

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Hi Vivienne, The Ahr Valley is about 20 minutes south of Bonn by car – it is in a region called the Eiffel and the Ahr flows into the river Rhine which is also not far away. I lived in Stourport-on-Severn and Bewdley in Worcestershire, and also in Birmingham when I was younger. My mom lived in Normandy for a couple of years, so we spent a lot of time there and really like it! I can imagine it being a nice place to write your blog posts!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

