Between Storms

Not long after Storms Gertrude and Henry, and hours before Storm Imogen, I was able to pop out for a little while to remind myself that this is still a beautiful part of the world, despite a seemingly endless succession of storms this winter.

We walked the dog through Sandpit Marsh near Christchurch on the south coast of England, which has not suffered as badly as northern areas under the recent storms, although Imogen could be another story. I ignored the puddles and muddy pathways, and managed to get some quite nice pictures of this local nature reserve.

As we drove home, the radio presenter announced that, because of 80 mph winds and high waves, the ferry companies have now cancelled many crossings. Whilst writing this short post, the lights have flickered on and off as the winds have built up, but hopefully the electricity will last the night! My journey back to Bonn in the morning could be a challenging one, but for tonight, I will batten down the hatches and enjoy being on this beautiful island!

IMG_1730IMG_1766 (2) IMG_1764 IMG_1759 IMG_1755 (2) IMG_1746 (2) IMG_1732 (2) IMG_1726

All pictures and text. © Chris Robinson 2016. All rights reserved.

9 thoughts on “Between Storms

  1. Jean Reinhardt

    Lovely photos, glad you got outdoors to take them. I’m looking at storm Imogen snapping small branches from the trees in our garden, as I type. They’re landing on the ones that storms Gertrude and Henry left there.

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Thanks Jean, it sounds like you will have some clearing up to do when Spring finally arrives! I am waiting to board a ferry, but feel like I am queuing for a roller coaster ride!

      Reply
  2. TanGental

    Hi Chris and thanks for the follow. Oh how the photos take me back – I spent my formative years in the New Forest. As a result I have a healthy dislike of ponies and love of the countryside – so your pictures were a perfect curate’s egg for me!

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Thanks Geoff, yes I have mixed emotions about the place where I grew up, but I think you see things differently when you visit there for the first time as an adult. Thanks for following me too!

      Reply
  3. merrildsmith

    Beautiful photos! I hope the storm didn’t affect you or your travel too badly. We had snow here yesterday, but today it’s about 40 degrees warmer with heavy rain and wind. Crazy!

    Reply
    1. Chris Robinson Post author

      Hi Merril, that’s a serious fluctuation in the temperatures! I love the snow, but I’m starting to look forward to summer now. Thanks for your feedback about the photos! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

